Welcome Sara to the Stage! Monday’s Featured Artist Interview

Please welcome Sara Butcher as our next Monday Featured Artist.  I’ve picked Sara for her amazingly evident talent as an illustrator.  I am in awe with the fantasy nature of her art, and I think you will agree when I say her spirit shines through every line of her artwork.

I am a 30-year-old illustrator tucked away in a Midwestern studio painting fairies, mermaids, and angels for nurseries and ladies of all ages. I try to inspire and bring joy to others through my art; a gift from God I wish to extend to others. I live with my husband, Brian, and two girlie cats, Talor and Madeline. Most of my business is online through my Etsy shop (http://sarambutcher.etsy.com).

What are some things that bring you joy or inspire you?

Trees, gardens, baths, and fairytales bring me inspiration. My baby niece, eight-year-old niece, and three-year-old nephew bring me joy. My mom, dad, cats, and husband bring me both.

Midnight Warrior

Do you work outside the home, or are you self employed?

I work in a wee studio in our apartment, self-employed running my etsy/licensing shop. To keep a more consistent pay, I must work outside of the studio. I teach children ages 6-17 drawing, painting, and the importance of imagination at the Des Moines Art Center. I adore it because not only is it a second home for me, but the kids are also there because they want to be. What a blessing!

Quiet Time

How long have you been creating, and why did you begin?

For starters, my dad is an art teacher. I’ve been drawing since I was able. I remember one of my first presents was an etch-n-sketch! As for the fantasy aspect, I’m a Disney child. That’s all I ever watched as a little girl, so when Fantasia came out, I was hooked on the frost fairies and dancing mushrooms.

Perched at Dawn

What are some of your favorites (websites, materials, foods, books, other people’s work, etc.)

Favorites are important to me, and typically to my students I call it the “Inspiration Board” – the things that inspire us. My favorites do that. Food….I love food. It has become my hobby to play with food in the kitchen and inventing meals. The different art periods, fellow artists past and present: Mucha, De Vinci, Van Gogh, Brian Froud, Alan Lee, Klimt, and the list goes on and on. I truly love looking through bridal magazines too. The dresses can bring much inspiration to a sense of mood or whimsy.

Lusinga

Where do you live, and do you hope to live elsewhere?

I live in Des Moines, Iowa – an Iowan girl to the core. Born and raised here and I truly love knowing where I am going, the people I run into, and such. I was in school for four years in Minneapolis, and Glasgow, Scotland for four months studying abroad. I loved Scotland and would adore living there if I could. I have Scottish blood on both sides of my family and I hold that dear to my heart. No wonder I love fairytales.

Fairy Riding Snail

What are some of your short term and long term goals overall.

I live every day as it comes. It’s hard for me to set goals and see them through because I just don’t know what tomorrow will bring. What if it sets my goal to some other route or outcome? So I try to live with bringing hope, joy, and inspiration to those around me through my art, in away I think that is my goal. Truly, I would also like my talents, the ones God gave me, to financially fulfill our need to have a house and raise a family.

The Grumpy Troll

What is your most treasured possession, and why?

My most treasured possession? As cheesy as it sounds, my pencil. A pencil in my hand feels as natural as your thumb or finger. It’s not separate from my body; it’s part of it. I can create or write anything my mind creates. Throughout everything I’ve endured, no matter what the circumstance, emotion, or outcome, I’ve always had the pencil. Something to draw a line with, that’s a treasured possession.

Mermaid Princess

Do you have a religious or spiritual background?

I do! Six years ago I saw Christ. I didn’t understand him at the time, but I heard of him in a way that was new to me, and at a very desperate time in my life. Needless to say, my spirituality is pretty evident in my work. The light, truth, joy, blessing, and most importantly, love, has inspired me through my work and my life. Each piece I do that has a focus on God brings a new insight to me individually. Without Christ, I would still be painting blood, pain, pity, and just the darkness of the world, instead of the light.

Please visit Sara on Etsy for more examples of her fabulous artwork, and to purchase prints, postcards, and more.  http://sarambutcher.etsy.com

You can also find Sara here:

Blog: http://warriorprincessdream.blogspot.com
FB: http://www.facebook.com/sarabillustration

Thank you Sara for sharing with us all this week.  Wishing you the peace and tranquility your images represent always.

~Lynnette

About seashellsbyseashore

Main--www.LovingCoastalLiving.com Blogger, Sea Shell/ Nature Inspired Artist, Collector of all things cool & Vintage, Mother of 3 amazing children, Wife to my Best Friend, mother of 3 fabulous bloodhounds! I'm on Etsy too, stop by & SEA us! www.seashellsbyseashore.etsy.com and on Twitter as @LuckySeaBean- and facebook as well! lol http://www.facebook.com/SeaShellsbySeaShore.LovingCoastalLiving Find some of my other cool links on my main website! Loving Coastal Living all the time!
This entry was posted in etsy shop, Inspirational, peace and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment