American Diabetes Association’s Tour de Cure

My sister Michelle and her husband Joshua are riding their bicycles in the American Diabetes Association’s Tour de Cure to support Diabetes research. Diabetes runs in our family and has claimed the lives of both our grandfathers. Many of our loved ones struggle with this ongoing illness today. It is a topic near to our heart and my sister will be biking her first ever 60 mile event soon.

Below is a note from my sister and why she is riding to find a cure for Diabetes. If you can find it in your heart to assist them with their fundraising, we’d greatly appreciate the support.

Thank you ~ Lynnette

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

american diabetes association tour de cure

I am riding because I have diabetes. The American Diabetes Association’s Tour de Cure is so much more than a cycling event to me. It is my opportunity to ride for something I have and hope to change the future for others who have or become diabetic.

I am committed to ride and raise money in this inspirational event not because 26 million people in the United States have diabetes, but because I personally know people that have it along with myself. I want to do something about it. Won’t you help me start a chain reaction?

support american diabetes association tour de cure

Chances are, you also know someone who has been affected by diabetes and you already know how important it is to stop this disease. By making a donation on my behalf or by joining my team, you will be helping the Association provide community-based education programs, protect the rights of people with diabetes and fund critical research for a cure.

With your help, we will fight for a future where a parent does not have to hear that their child has diabetes. A future where an adult does not have to face the uncertain times ahead after receiving a diabetes diagnosis. A future where you and I will know that we had a part in making this possible.

american diabetes association tour de cure

I personally know the struggles that come from diabetes. I was diagnosed Jan 1999 and have been up & down from it ever since. I know what it feels like to feel like a burden, not know if I can afford the insulin from month to month, worry about what is okay to eat and how much and the feeling of why me. Let’s change that for the future.

I have seen what diabetes can do if not treated. Both of my grandfathers. One of them was on dialysis for a long time and ended up losing his fight. My other grandfather ended up losing several toes because of the disease.

I myself, have had to go through several toe surgeries, have had two very hard pregnancies due to complications from diabetes. I want to do my part to find the cure. I don’t want to see another person go through the constant struggles that I have faced. Won’t you help me?

I’m not asking that you donate a huge amount of money. Maybe $5 is pushing it for you, but when you think about it, remember the ones that worry everyday for their kids at school with diabetes, or like me, being a parent with type 1 diabetes and worrying if I will be okay long enough to see my kids grown up and become adults.

This will be my FIRST ever bike ride at a distance of 60 miles. Please help me fight through it.  I truly appreciate your support.

Together we can Stop Diabetes! ~ Michelle

Please join us in supporting Michelle here.

Please join us in supporting Joshua here.

About seashellsbyseashore

Main--www.LovingCoastalLiving.com Blogger, Sea Shell/ Nature Inspired Artist, Collector of all things cool & Vintage, Mother of 3 amazing children, Wife to my Best Friend, mother of 3 fabulous bloodhounds! I'm on Etsy too, stop by & SEA us! www.seashellsbyseashore.etsy.com and on Twitter as @LuckySeaBean- and facebook as well! lol http://www.facebook.com/SeaShellsbySeaShore.LovingCoastalLiving Find some of my other cool links on my main website! Loving Coastal Living all the time!
This entry was posted in balance life, lynnette stirling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to American Diabetes Association’s Tour de Cure

  1. Pingback: Mermaid Starfish Crown Tierra | Loving Coastal Living by SeaShellsbySeaShore

Leave a Reply

