366 Days of Thanks, Day 5

Hello there,  hope everyone has been tuning in to Facebook daily to read my daily thoughts of thankful posts.  Today is day 5, and this one requires a bit more to say.  So, 

DAY 5
I am thankful for Recycling, Reusing/repurposing, and reducing.
My family tends to think I slightly overdo this area. They make jokes at my craziness, but I love the 3 R’s.
We have two extra large trash can size recycle bins , and I find myself picking through the household trash to get things that can be recycled instead of throwing them away. I repurpose just about anything. Often I find myself saving some small and writers things because I see potential as something else. I use tons of recycled items in my artwork,and donate items on a regular basis. I live the thought of giving life to something old and forgotten.
A recent trip to Target,  sparked a full fledge investigation to their business. When I walked in,  I noticed the cars were made out off heavy plastic. The first thing out of my mouth was,  ‘I hope they used recycled plastic materials to make these’ . My family shuddered in embarrassment. My I was stunned to find out about all that Target does for both community,  recycling,  and reducing. After extensive research on the company I have now decided to make Target my one stop shop for everything except my meat market and fresh farmer grown fruits & veggies. (I have a secret little fresh meat market,  I just can’t pass up).
Some people call me crazy,  a little off the deep end,  my I know if everyone invested half the time I do to making a difference with the 3 r’s , there find that saving money,  timber,  and our precious earth was actually pretty easy.  I am happy to say I make a difference.
So whether I’m sorting old random puzzle pieces to save to make a project,  or picking through the bathroom trash to see what could be recycled,
I AM THANKFUL for the opportunity to use the 3 r’s everyday.  Our society had made it much easier to make a difference.

About seashellsbyseashore

Main--www.LovingCoastalLiving.com Blogger, Sea Shell/ Nature Inspired Artist, Collector of all things cool & Vintage, Mother of 3 amazing children, Wife to my Best Friend, mother of 3 fabulous bloodhounds! I'm on Etsy too, stop by & SEA us! www.seashellsbyseashore.etsy.com and on Twitter as @LuckySeaBean- and facebook as well! lol http://www.facebook.com/SeaShellsbySeaShore.LovingCoastalLiving Find some of my other cool links on my main website! Loving Coastal Living all the time!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

