Welcome a Fabulous Duo- Beth & Bebe from searchnrescue2

Hello friends, blogging break must come to an end!   To start off I have a fabulous duo to introduce to you all, definitely one of my favorite shops on Etsy!  You can tell these two ladies are a bucket full of fun, and their designs show how much they absolutely love working with each other!  So, please help me welcome ‘searchnrescue2’ from Etsy- shop owners Beth and Bebe!

Bebe: I’m fifty-three, and happy to be here. I love life. Mainly because I am the luckiest somebody on the planet. I have a sometimes irritating but mostly wonderful husband, three beautiful children (four counting daughter in law), and one precious grand daughter. My sister and I sell on Etsy, searchnrescue2, and I also sell in two shops. One in sunny Va. Beach, Seaside Gifts, the other in Manteo, N.C., Endless Possibilities. I’m still amazed that my work is in people’s homes across the country, and even beyond, now, we’re international! There is no greater compliment or validation.

Beth: In high school I realized I had a talent to make clothes. I have my own home based business for 20+ years, making everything from prom/wedding gowns to slip covers and draperies. I even made a tux for a newborn boy! Wish I had those pictures. I am so happy my sister and I finally put our talents together to make our shop, searchnrescue2. We were blessed with incredible creativity and are finally seeing that to fruition. I am 51, have two incredible daughters and one grand son who would steal your heart in a milla second!

What are some things that bring you joy or inspire you?

Bebe: I see joy in everything this beautiful world has to offer. I am inspired by odd things, from the homeless man’s sign to  the rickety chair beside the faded trailer. From the conversation I eavesdropped on in the Farmers’ Foods to the color of the dance in a smiling stranger’s eyes. If you are happy, joy and inspiration find you. Slaps you right dead in the face sometimes.

Beth:

My grand son, Ian, brings me the most incredible joy I have ever felt. I’m hoping my girls will have a ton of babies! As for inspiration…. it doesn’t take much. I am easily inspired. Something new comes along and I just want to go with it…until it gets boring. Loving that “instant gratification” isn’t all bad, it’s taken me places I may have never explored.

Do you work outside the home, or are you self employed?

Bebe:  I work from home, have a finished off attic, just shelves, old tables, wire running from wall to wall with clothespins. My vain attempts at organization are often overshadowed by my enthusiasm for the moment. Plus, if I put everything away, I forget I have it. Sister Beth does the office work. I am fond of referring to her as my, “personal assistant,” and, fortunately, she has a high threshold for offensive behavior and doesn’t seem to mind. She is a far better seamstress than I which is what she’s supposed to be doing, but that only sporadically comes to fruition. I have a prancing mind, she has prancing fingers, meaning she won’t get off the computer. I’m not amused, but it has been beneficial to business. She’s making friends while I’m having coffee with corn stalks. (see question #6)

Beth: see above, hahaaa. Self Employed.

(Hover over Slideshow to advance or go back)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How long have you been creating, and why did you begin?

Bebe:  All my life, escape being the mother of creativity. My childhood was not idyllic, but I learned that any form of art or writing, got me out of there quick. My workshop takes me to another place. Just me, surrounded by material, metal, wood, paint. I crank up the music and go, forget about the outside world. No rules, just objects de virtue, waiting to be born. I’d be lost without this outlet.

Beth: I’ve been creating since I can remember and really began to sew for others when I was 19. It’s an awesome feeling to make something for someone and they love the way it feels and fits. It’s especially gratifying to design the garment/home decor and then sew it. I always want to be on Project Runway!

What are some of your favorites (websites, materials, foods, books, other people’s work, etc.)

Bebe: Favorites? Anything old. As far as fabric goes, I’m in awe of vintage embroidery. I love lettering in aged books. But I am also intrigued by wood, and have never been able to walk by a good metal scrap. Number one on my list, however, is anything from the ocean. Shells, well, they are art within themselves. Shells will make you believe.

Beth: I love all fabrics, old to new. I have had to empty out my abundant collection MANY times. I love fresh vegetables cooked up tasty and my huge downfall is chocolate. As for other people’s work and favorite websites:  Is most definitely Etsy! WOW There are incredible artist there and I love to browse their stores! I know what it takes to make things and I am so impressed by all the talent in the world. I also just began using Pinterest, it’s addicting! [http://pinterest.com/beth07/ ]

I also love online games too….. ooops. [makes my sister furious]

Where do you live, and do you hope to live elsewhere?

Bebe: I’m originally fromVa.Beach, but now live in Edenton, N.C, specifically Rocky Hock and I’d appreciate you stifling the laughter. Downtown is historic, but I live in the boondocks, historically isolated. Unless, of course, you have mastered the fine and lost art of befriending corn stalks. Tomato plants are effective listeners, but don’t over indulge a squash, they are prone to gossip and embellishment. Town’s so dull even the tide won’t come back. Fortunately, I have a very large family, five brothers and a sister, inVa.Beach, plus my kids. I visit often. All my love is in them. If my workaholic hub would retire, and I had my ‘druthers, I’d relocate in a cottage, hell, a shack, a port-a-potty, anything near the ocean.

Beth: I live inVirginia BeachVA and have all my life. My family all lives here except my sister, she’s only an hour and a half away! It’s great to go to visit her out in “Allygater Ditch”! Here inVa.Beach it’s really a beautiful city, sometimes I forget to appreciate what I have…. there are a lot of people, traffic, etc. One day I would love to go visit and possibly live inSouth Carolina, nearCharleston and the ocean. One of the little islands off the coast in a beach cottage would be a dream come true.

What are some of your short term and long term goals overall.

Bebe: Short term and long term goals are one in the same. I will never realize or even attempt my long term goal, writing a book, if I don’t make it a short term goal, and put down the paint brush. I keep reminding myself that it’s tomorrow. Ultimate and ongoing short, in between and long term goal is to make a difference in people’s lives. Paying it forward, through art, words, or something as simple as a smile, can change how one person thinks. And that is how we begin to make a change in this world. When my time comes, if it can be said of me that I made a difference in someone’s life, I will say to myself, “Self! Well done.” In the mean time, I’d just like to go to the Tasty Freeze.

Beth: My long term goal is to be at peace inside and the world outside. It’s a work in progress, daily. Also to make my kids proud, have a successful business with my sister on Etsy and to have a great marriage. Any tips are always helpful!

Short term…. I wanna lose weight by umm, tomorrow!

What is your most treasured possession, and why?

Bebe: Things my children have made. Drawings, little notes. My son, at a young age, gave me a handmade card which read, “Mom, you’ll always be my valentine.” My daughter Dana’s tiny handprint, pressed in clay, a treasured Christmas ornament. Daughter Blake’s drawing of a cow on the moon, and in childlike handwriting below, “I’m on the moon and I’m staying!” Priceless. Aint’ that much money in the world. Sister Beth once wrote on a card “happy birthday to my sister who saved me from the dark”. I’ll kill ya over that one.

Beth: My most treasured possessions is art that my girls did in school. I have it all in plastic bins, sometimes go through it and just smile and cry. What comes out of the minds of children simply amaze me. I am now starting to collect my grand son’s papers and art! I also love to go through old photos for the memories and the styles of the era are so intriguing. We lost our Mom and Dad within a year an a half of each other… so a bracelet I have, that he gave her, means the world to me. I remember everything about the day he gave it to her.

Do you have a religious or spiritual background?

Bebe: Nondenominational. I believe in God, but I have an alphabetized list of questions for him when I get there. What happens in this world sometimes makes me tremble when I think that there is a just God. What I do believe, more than anything, is that while we are here on this earth, everything is it’s own reward. Hate begets hate, just as kindness brings you kindness in return. And that, to me, is what sinning and atonement and doing right is all about, so I figure I’m pretty safe on judgment day. We’re all responsible for leaving this world a little better than when we found it.

Beth: My Mom always told the story of me in Catholic Sunday school….  I would say “The Father, The Son and The Rolley Coaster”. I do believe in God… and the 10 commandments. I believe there is a place and purpose for us all here… I am finding my way.

Wow, thanks for sharing you’re fabulous story and adventures with us Beth and Bebe!  Y’all are FABULOUS, love every bit!  ~Lynnette

Be sure to visit their shop on Etsy-http://www.etsy.com/shop/searchnrescue2?ref=ss_profile and follow them on Facebook!  http://www.facebook.com/pages/Searchnrescue2/149326361781851?ref=pb

Thanks, hope you all missed me on my break!  I’ll have more Good Stuff (my Grandpa’s name for my brick and mortar store up north), coming soon!

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY on SallyLeebySea’s Blog-http://nauticalcottageblog.com/

 

About seashellsbyseashore

Main--www.LovingCoastalLiving.com Blogger, Sea Shell/ Nature Inspired Artist, Collector of all things cool & Vintage, Mother of 3 amazing children, Wife to my Best Friend, mother of 3 fabulous bloodhounds! I'm on Etsy too, stop by & SEA us! www.seashellsbyseashore.etsy.com and on Twitter as @LuckySeaBean- and facebook as well! lol http://www.facebook.com/SeaShellsbySeaShore.LovingCoastalLiving Find some of my other cool links on my main website! Loving Coastal Living all the time!
This entry was posted in arts and crafts, beach cottage, beach decor, coastal artwork, coastal decor, creative Etsy Shops, etsy, etsy shop, featured artist, Giveaway, handmade, home decor, laughing children, recycling, reduce, reuse, sea, Vintage Collectibles, vintage treasures and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Welcome a Fabulous Duo- Beth & Bebe from searchnrescue2

  1. cathie says:

    I love these girls from way back in the old ‘hood and I adore their work! Congratulations Bebe and Beth – your mama would be so proud!

  2. searchnrescue2 says:

    Thank YOU sooo much Lynnette! It turned out really nice, we are honored and grateful for this! All our best to you ~ xoxo Beth and Bebe

  3. Beuna Parziale says:

    That was a fabulous interview. I have known Beth and Bebe for MANY years…their mother was my best friend and her loss is a hurt that will never go away. Their art is wonderful and their talent is amazing! I wish them much success in the future…..beuna

  4. Rita Jordan says:

    Great article! So entertaining and interesting. These ladies are awesome and so are their products! Thanks for sharing their story to the world!!

  5. Jesse says:

    Thank you for sharing!I am so proud of you Beth! Beth and Bebe- all of your stuff is so unique. I will be sharing with everyone here in Jersey 🙂 XOXO, Jesse

  6. free ipad 2 says:

    Great review! You actually covered some great news in this post. I came across it by using Bing and I’ve got to admit that I already subscribed to the RSS feed, will be following you on my iphone 🙂

  7. Sherise Zerba says:

    cool site, glad i took the time to read it, if you have more similar articles ill be checking back to read them soon.

Leave a Reply

