New Featured Artist! Kathi from Earth Elements on Etsy

Sea Urchin Bowl

My name is Kathi and I live with my husband of 26 years and 2 cats.   Maybe I should say that we live with the cats because they pretty much own the place.  We have 3 great daughters and 5 grandchildren.  How lucky is that!  Online in my Etsy shop, in person at art fairs, along with a local gallery,  and I am also represented at some notable galleries around the U.S.

Witnessing the smallest act of kindness brings me both joy and inspiration.  Those “tug at your heartstrings  – Hallmark moments” put me in such a good mood that it is easy to be inspired by the goodness in people of all kinds.    Artistically, I love the forms colors and textures I find in the woods and waters and oftentimes I translate that into my work.

Stoneware Birch Tree with Mushroom Growth Vase

I have always loved and collected pottery, fascinated with it to the point that I wanted to “try it” myself.  About 6 years ago I had a mid-life crisis need to be creative and treated myself to a kiln and potters wheel for Christmas.  I have never regretted it.    I am self taught and know this will be an ongoing journey of learning and experimentation for years to come.   Although I took some pottery classes in high school, (I sat next to the dinosaurs that was so long ago) it’s a pretty distant memory, so that doesn’t count much for prior experience.

I love to read mysteries and police drama books when I have time, and I adore spending time perusing etsy looking at so many different sellers shops, in all kinds of mediums.  You asked what my favorite food is…..well, I love potatoes.  Real potatoes.  And they can be served in any manner, Fried, baked, mashed, roasted or as appetizers.  If it was healthy, I would eat potatoes 3 times a day.

So here’s a quick and delicious recipe for fried potatoes.   No measuring needed just add whatever amounts of the listed ingredients to suit you.

Cut potatoes into small cubes, start frying them (in butter of course), sprinkle with a little bit a Lowreys seasoning salt and some Mrs. Dash.  When the potatoes are about half done, Add cooked bacon pieces, chunky cut onions, and mushrooms if desired.  Cook until potatoes are done and just before you take them off the burner grab a bottle of soy saucer and generously douse the potatoes with it, stirring for a minute to allow the soy sauce to heat and flavor throughout and ENJOY!  Delicious at breakfast too.

Sea Urchin Pin Cushion- one of her Biggest Sellers

I live in the Midwest near Madison Wisconsin, always have, but the older I get, the more and more I want to move to a warmer sunnier climate.  I don’t tolerate cold weather, it makes me want to hibernate.  I have visions of a beautiful home in the south with a solarium style studio, where no matter what the weather is outside, inside I feel like I am in the tropics.

Yarn Bowl

What are some of your short term and long term goals overall.

In the short term, I would like to add another kiln to my studio…just a little test kiln to help get special small orders fired more quickly and long term is to develop “the perfect glaze”.  I have a vision for it and know what it should look and feel like, I just haven’t landed on the right combination of ingredients yet.  Someday though….!

What is your most treasured possession, and why?

Honestly not sure, I try not to attach myself to possessions because they are only “things” and instead I just treasure each and every moment.

Please visit Kathi’s shop on Etsy- There’s lot of lovely items I didn’t even get to show you all!  http://www.etsy.com/shop/EarthElements

Thank you Kathi for inviting us in to learn more about your beautiful and unique art.  You are truly gifted.

~Lynnette

About seashellsbyseashore

Main--www.LovingCoastalLiving.com Blogger, Sea Shell/ Nature Inspired Artist, Collector of all things cool & Vintage, Mother of 3 amazing children, Wife to my Best Friend, mother of 3 fabulous bloodhounds! I'm on Etsy too, stop by & SEA us! www.seashellsbyseashore.etsy.com and on Twitter as @LuckySeaBean- and facebook as well! lol http://www.facebook.com/SeaShellsbySeaShore.LovingCoastalLiving Find some of my other cool links on my main website! Loving Coastal Living all the time!
This entry was posted in beach theme, coastal decor, etsy shop, featured artist, Pottery, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Featured Artist! Kathi from Earth Elements on Etsy

  1. Gina Argyrou says:

    Just found your blog link through All Things Coastal team on etsy and love it! This feature of Kathi and her lovely artwork is nice, especially like the sea urchin pottery! Will continue to read and enjoy your blog, thanks for sharing 🙂
    Gina from Agapi Sea Glass on Etsy

Leave a Reply

